Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Hunting Lease

S.E. Mass. Except Deer season then you re apt to find me hanging around any ol tree!!

New Hunting Lease

Well guys I don't know if I feel good or bad about this. I have been trying to find new places in CT. to hunt for the past 3 years with no luck. The folks who I have been hunting their land are old and dieing. I am down to my last 40 Ac. and this guy signs permits for any one who asks. So 3 of my friends and myself have decided to pool our money and see if we can lease land to hunt. Well we just leased a 100 Ac. farm in Lebanon Ct. for $1000.00 or $250.00 each. I have never done this before and I really hope this is not the start of something up and coming or maybe its just that I'm a nonresident and no one wants us on their property. At any rate wish us luck there seems to be a fair amount of deer on the property.

I'm surprised leasing in CT hasn't happened sooner but figure it was coming. I know some waterfowl guides who are doing it.

The land isn't free, makes sense to help out financially in certain cases.

This sounds like a good idea, especialy for farmers who may need all the $ they can get stay a float.

About leasing land. It may violate the following, stated in the DEP guide:

"Landowners who allow, without fee, the recreational use of their property are protected from liability by Connecticut law..."

I could be wrong, but leasing land like this and a resulting lawsuit would be bad news.

Cal45
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormshadow View Post

"Landowners who allow, without fee, the recreational use of their property are protected from liability by Connecticut law..."

I could be wrong, but leasing land like this and a resulting lawsuit would be bad news.
    Wouldn't even want to speculate on that. Having enough trouble with a salt water fishing license.

Quote Originally Posted by "Stormshadow