Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ready? >>-------->

Images

Ready? >>-------->

Its been so hot out that it almost doesn't feel like bow opens in less than a month. I'm just beginning to get the itch. I started running cams and marking trails when I get a little window of rain. Got the bow out and building on some form and a nice smooth release. Still need to go through my gear, maybe get some fresh broadheads and thermacell pads. Going to have to wash and air everything out. And a million other things.

I think this will be a really great season for overall deer harvests, and lots of big bucks. With the combination of crazy acorns last year, low deer harvest, and the warm winter, we should have lots of deer this year, and the bucks should have plenty of extra energy to put into antler growth. I have been seeing a ton of spotted fawns recently all over the place, and the bucks have awesome racks already. Lots of 2.5 year olds will be hard to pass this year.

I didn't get much scouting in over the winter with the lack of snow so only a few new spots for me this year. Still have about 15 to 20 different places in mind for early season. Gotta spread out the pressure as much as possible. I'm going to focus on doe spots until the freezer is happy, then hone in on pinch points and bedding as we approach November. From what I'm seeing the acorns are few as is to be expected. The only decent looking numbers are on the red oaks. So any productive whites should be deer magnets this year. Fruit trees are not looking too good this year either, so green fields should be getting some good action early season.

Getting ready,and hoping for a great season. Wishing all you the best of luck.
    Anyone getting excited yet? What do your expectations for the upcoming season, and how are you preparing for it?

Attached Images Attached Images

Super Moderator Deadeye Logun S16 Champion, Backyard Shootout Champion TooManyHobbies's Avatar
    Images