Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Heading to UCONN, looking to keep hunting this fall!Any help Appreciated!

Heading to UCONN, looking to keep hunting this fall!Any help Appreciated!

Hello!

I'm Chris. I'm a Massachusetts native whose heading to the University of Connecticut Storrs this fall. I've been hunting for a few years now and really would like to continue to do something during my time in college, whether it just be trap shooting or coyote hunting.

I tried to get into a bow hunter safety class but I didn't make the cut so it looks like I will be gun hunting instead. I'm familiar with turkey hunting and deer but I'd like to explore more options like waterfowl or coyote hunting. Does anyone know the Storrs/Mansfield/Willimantic? Any input or help would be awesome!

Thanks!

Mansfield Hollow is pretty close ride down Route 195 for you. Check out the CT DEEP site with the public land maps.

http://www.depdata.ct.gov/wildlife/m....asp?deepNav=|

Also, plenty of farms around the area if you could get access to them. I believe there is a decent archery club there that shoots in one of the Ag Arena buildings.

Just wondering but if you are heading in as a freshman, are you planning on living on campus? How are you planning on storing your gun?

Thanks CamoCatcher8!

My mom's boyfriend lives about 15-20 minutes from the campus and I believe he has a firearms permit. There too is a gun club about the same distance that helps with the shooting/pistol club by keeping the students' pistols there so I intend to talk more with the club once school starts the 22nd.

One of those should work but if something comes up, my family lives right outside of Worcester in MA so it's only an hour drive back. I'm still trying to figure everything out.

Perfect. Good to see you have your options covered.

I was there for 5 years and my wife's family still own's and rents a house to students. Awesome school.