PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie Advice more than Welcome!!!!!!

Wolfecastle
07-22-2011, 12:14 AM
I'm completely new to hunting. I have been shooting pistols and rifles my entire life, but have never hunted before. I completed both the firearms and bow hunting courses just recently and am eager to harvest a deer this season. I have been researching equipment (climbing stands, clothing, etc.) for the past few months and realize there is so much, that it can be overwhelming. I recently purchased a Hoyt compound bow and have been practicing as much as possible since everyone I speak with say the key is practice, practice, and then when you're done...practice.

A buddy of mine's uncle has quite a bit of woods in Hebron that he owns. Apparently, some people do hunt in this area for deer. Does anyone know if this is actually an area where one might be successful in findng deer?

Any suggestions are more than welcome on equipment, locations, techniques, or anything you think I will need to know to be successful.

thanks for the help!!!

vanbowhunts
07-22-2011, 08:38 AM
Welcome the forum, and to the toughest school of hard knocks you'll ever go through, in fact it's a life long journey, and some never graduate....Hunting deer is one of the most challenging animals in the wild you will ever hunt! Their sense of smell is at a minimum 100 X's better than ours, so if your downwind of their nose, game over!

My best advice is to make each trip into the woods a learning experience, what works for some people don't work for others. But the basics are this, Keep safe (Always wear your harness), keep scent free (or upwind of known trails), keep quiet, know your target, and know your limitations...this is going to be a lifelong lesson, so prepare now!

Don't get discouraged..it will be easy to do!

Welcome to the addiction!!

~ Van

TooManyHobbies
07-22-2011, 08:49 AM
Hey Wolf, welcome.