View Full Version : Trophy Fish Ceremonies In Hartford

02-12-2009, 05:16 PM
Trophy Fish Ceremonies In Hartford

The Hartford Courant

The Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) will be hosting the first "trophy fish award" ceremony at the Northeast Fishing and Hunting Expo in the Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford at 6 p.m. on Friday.

Forty-three fishermens will be presented certificates recognizing their achievement of having caught or landed the largest fish in one of several species categories during 2008.

The new ceremony is an extension of the department's trophy fish award program. Established in 1965, this program recognizes fishermens for catching freshwater and saltwater fish of qualifying size. Anglers complete and submit an affadavit with an attached photo of their catch. There are categories for fishermens that practice catch-and-release fishing as well as for those who harvest their catch.

More information about the trophy fish award program is available in the 2009 Connecticut Angler's Guide and on the DEP website ( www.ct.gov/dep (http://www.ct.gov/dep)).

Below are the names and hometowns of fishermen
s being recognized for their achievements during 2008:

Michael Campi, Barkhamsted; Daniel B. Southwick, Millville, Mass.; William DeBlasio, Berlin; Paul Valenti, Moosup; Jake Avery, Blandford, Mass., Janine C. Hossan, New Fairfield; Brandon D'Angelo, Bristol; Richard Wasik, Niantic; Dawn Stange, Burlington; Stephen Maloney, North Haven; David Jones, Canaan; Patrick A. Crump, Norwich; Robert Bourgeouis, Chaplin; Melanie Ezell, Oakdale; Brian Camilleri, Cheshire; Valinn Ranelli, Old Lyme; Casey Hart, Clinton; Kevin Allaire, Orange; John A. Wallace Sr., Cobalt; John K. Mikita, Oxford; Thomas Pasko, Collinsville; Peter Mikulak, Plainville; Michael G. Brogan, East Hampton; Lance Sistare Jr., Pomfret; Daniel E.S. Kornegay III, East Hampton; Richard H. Hall, Portland; Frank Kijek, East Hartford; Brett Christian, Salem; Chuck Adams, Eastford; Timothy E. Kilbride, Meriden; Michael G. Pinto Jr., Enfield; Mark Sedlak, Stafford Springs; Ron Carr, Foxboro, Mass.; Joseph D. Cybulski, Terryville; Richard Mastalerz, Lisbon; Joseph Ambro Sr., Vernon; Brian Kobus, Meriden; Joseph Ambro Jr., Vernon; Nicholas Catafeno, Middlefield; Mark Betancourt, Vernon; John Wallace Jr., Middletown; Edward Pastula, West Hartford.